You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Europe
  5. » Greek mythology
  6. » Pleiades
Cite/print/rate article
Send comment    References


by Micha F. Lindemans
The Pleiades are the seven daughters of Atlas and Pleione. They were the virgin companions of Artemis. When Orion, a beautiful hunter, pursued them and their mother, they prayed to the gods for rescue. The gods answered they prayer and they were changed into doves, and later into stars. Zeus placed them in the sky where they formed a part of the constellation of Taurus.

According to another myth, they committed suicide after the death of their sisters the Hyades.

The Pleiads are Alcyone, Electra, Celaeno, Maia, Sterope, Merope and Taygete.

Ovid XIII, 293.

Article details:

  • Pronunciation:

Page tools: