You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Middle East
  5. » Islamic mythology
  6. » Prophets
Cite/print/rate article
Send comment    References


by Micha F. Lindemans
In the Islamic popular tradition, God created light first in the form of a pearl. God looked upon this shining pearl with so much love that it felt shy and perspiration 'pearled' upon its shiny surface. Out of these droplets God created the spirits of the prophets of the Qur'anic tradition. They are the following, in order of their appearance on earth:
  1. Adam
  2. Idris
  3. Nuh (Noah)
  4. Hud
  5. Salid
  6. Ibrahim (Abraham)
  7. Lut (Lot)
  8. Ishaq (Isaac)
  9. Isma'il (Ishmael)
  10. Ya'qub (Jacob)
  11. Yusuf (Joseph)
  12. Ayyub (Job)
  13. Shu'ayb (Jethro)
  14. Musa (Moses)
  15. Harun (Aaron)
  16. Dhu'l-Kifli (Joshua)
  17. Shamuil (Samuel)
  18. Dawud (David)
  19. Sulayman (Solomon)
  20. Ilyas (Elijah)
  21. Al-Yasaa (Elisha)
  22. Uzayr (Ezra)
  23. Yunus (Jonah)
  24. Zakariya (Zachariah)
  25. Yahya (John the Baptist)
  26. Isa (Jesus)
  27. Muhammad

A prophet is a man who receives a revelation directly from God or from an angel (Jibril). He is then sent (rasul) to his people.

There are many more prophets; the ones mentioned here are the most important ones.

Article details:

  • N/A

Page tools: