You are here:
  1. » Home
  2. » Areas
  3. » Mythology
  4. » Asia
  5. » Hindu mythology
  6. » Yuga


by Prasad Krishna
One of the four ages of the world into which, according to Hindu cosmology, the mundane time is divided. The names of the four ages are 1) Krita-yuga, 2) Treta-yuga, 3) Dwapara-yuga and 4) Kali-yuga. It is said that Dharma or virtue (which is symbolically represented by a Bull) walks on all the four feet in Krita yuga and with the advent each subsequent Yuga, it loses one foot. Thus, it walks on 3 feet in Treta and 2 feet and Dwapara and so on.

Article details:

  • N/A

Page tools: