Four harts

"Dead." One of the four harts that run in the limbs of the great ash Yggdrasil and nibble on the twigs and leaves:

Harts there are also four,
which from its summits,
arch-necked, gnaw.
Dain and Dvalin,
Duneyr and Durathror.

In the Nafnaþulur it is one of the names for hart.



  • Grímnismál, 33.
  • Gylfaginning, 16.
  • Skáldskaparmál, 57.