Melanesian mythology

This area is a work in progress.

The myths of Melanesia, one of the three major subdivisions (with Micronesia and Polynesia) of the Pacific Islands.

It includes New Guinea, Bismarck Archipelago, New Hebrides, New Caledonia and Dependancies, Fiji Islands, Maluki Islands (Moluccas), Solomon Islands, Torres Strait Islands, and Vanuatu. In the region more than 700 languages are spoken.

Although part of Indonesia, the province of Papua (on New Guinea) is — for now — included in the Melanesian mythogy area.


Recommended reading